Faculty of agriculture in Osijek

Faculty of agriculture in Osijek

Osijek with a population of about 100,000 is the largest city and the economic, educational and cultural centre of the eastern Croatian region of Slavonia. Osijek is located on the right bank of the Drava River, 25 kilometres upstream of its confluence with the Danube.

The name was given to the city due to its position on elevated ground which prevented the city being flooded by the local swamp waters. Its name Osijek comes from the Croatian word “oseka” which means “ebb tide”.

Due to its past and its history within the Habsburg Monarchy and briefly in the Ottoman Empire and also due to the presence of German and Hungarian minorities throughout its history, Osijek also has (or had) its names in other languages, notably Hungarian: Eszék, German: Esseg or Essegg, Latin: Essec, Turkish: Ösek. Also spelled Esgek. All those names were adjusted variations to the original Croatian given name. Osijek was originally established close to the remains of the old Roman settlement (now within the city urban area) Colonia Aelia Mursa, also colloquially called Mursa Maior, as it was established by Emperor Hadrian.

Important locations

Registration, lectures and poster sessions will take place at Faculty of Agriculture, Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek.